Skip to main content

21 Savage Drops Highly Anticipated Album “american dream”

After a six-year hiatus, 21 Savage is back with his first solo studio effort, “american dream.”

With a runtime of 50 minutes, the 15-track album serves as the accompanying soundtrack to his debut film of the same name. Notable collaborations include Doja Cat on “n.h.i.e.,” Metro Boomin on “pop ur shit” featuring Young Thug, Lil Durk on “dangerous,” Travis Scott on “née-nah,” and Burna Boy on “just like me.” Other featured artists include Summer Walker on “prove it,” Brent Faiyaz on “should’ve worn a bonnet,” and Mariah The Scientist on “dark days.”

Reflecting significant personal growth since his last solo release, “i am > i was” in 2018, “american dream” delves into 21’s triumphs and struggles over the past six years, notably addressing and resolving immigration issues. The album weaves a cohesive narrative, showcasing the rapper’s evolution with stellar production while his honest lyricism and delivery invite listeners to step into his shoes. By keeping his truths at the forefront, 21 Savage has crafted a project with lasting impact, enduring the shifts in the rap landscape. Much like the film’s trailer suggests, “american dream” is 21’s way of reconciling with his past and honoring the versions of himself that have lived to tell the tale.

The film, “american dream: the 21 savage story,” co-stars the artist, Donald Glover, and Caleb McLaughlin, portraying three generations of 21 in the midst of a personal crisis. Directed by Donald and Stephen Glover, alongside Jamal Olori and Fam Udeorji, the film promises a compelling exploration of 21’s journey.

You can stream 21 Savage’s “american dream” on Spotify below. Stay tuned for the official release date of the accompanying film.


Hip Hop

Baby Keem Gives Sneak Peek of Upcoming Album

25 February, 2024 · by Scharlotte Bynes
Top 10 Artists Wrongfully Jailed Despite Innocence
Hip Hop

Top 10 Artists Wrongfully Jailed Despite Innocence

23 February, 2024 · by Annette Stone